A Dream to Build a Life On

What if. Those are two words that embody a dream, a vision, or a wish. They are a scary combination when not used properly, but have changed lives and improved mankind when used in a positive manner. “What if” has crafted human evolution for thousands of years, raised by our constant desire to peek around the corner and see if we can glimpse the edge of infinity.

 

And now I ask myself, “what if?”

 

What does a perfect day look like? Close your eyes and try to focus. Mull that question over and over: if you had unlimited resources, money in the bank, and frequent flier miles that would make any Fortune 500 CEO jealous, what would your perfect day look like from start to finish?

 

As a public service (and, because I want to brag a little), here’s my perfect day:


Its amazing how I don’t need an alarm anymore; I love to get up in the morning. Stretching and warming up, I set the coffee pot to a timer and jog out the door. I need to make it to the beach in 10 minutes for my morning routine, but I needn’t worry; my house is 5 minutes from the beach here in Hawaii.

 

I get there in plenty of time to say hi to the other attendees; we’ve been going as a group to the same beach for a while now. Then it begins; a 10-minute meditation session, followed by a exercise regimen that leaves me invigorated and ready for anything. Once we finish, its off to the breakfast wagon parked by the beach, and a healthy meal for all.

 

Now I’m back at my place, just in time for hot coffee. Taking a quick shower and changing clothes, I check my calendar to see which “office” I should use today: the spare room I’ve converted into an office/studio, or the back deck. As it turns out, its “studio” day. Firing up the Mac and blazing through my emails and notifications, I prep my show notes for the podcast recording I need to do today. However, “need” may be too strong a word; interviewing Sir Richard Branson for my podcast is hardly a “need”, and more of a “holy s*** I can’t believe I’m talking to Sir Richard Branson” moment…

 

The recording is done; the interview was amazing, Sir Richard was an awesome guest, and the podcast is sure to delight the listeners. I finish my other little jobs for the day (an article here, a blog post there, some guest posts) in a few hours, then its off to the trails. Today it’s a new trail through the mountains, and I’m pushing myself harder than I ever have. However, its not too hard; my constant stream (addiction?) of audiobooks keep me company until I reach the top.

 

As the day winds to a close and I prepare to meet friends for dinner in town, my phone chirps to remind me of something. I look at it and smile: its a reminder that my flight leaving for my home state and my monthly visit with family and friends leaves Honolulu tomorrow evening.

 

After all, even perfect days have red-eye flights.

 

This post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 3

Leave a Reply

