Superwhat?

You’ve seen it before. The obligatory “find yourself” scene in every superhero origin movie (Green Lantern DOES NOT COUNT), where the soon-to-be superhero shoots into space, runs away faster than a speeding bullet, or locks themselves in their room and refuses to accept the fact that the world is crumbing around them and that they are the only ones to save the world (I’m lookin’ at you, Marvel universe). They look deep into themselves to try and find meaning throughout it all, usually using a convincing mid-shot, dramatic music, and a cringed look on the actor’s face that makes me think they had too many tacos before shooting. Inevitably, they find their inner hero and save the day. And the girl.

 

While I’m not figuring out whether or not I can leap tall buildings in a single bound (I leave that to the professionals), I am figuring out what, exactly, my “superpower” is. To do that, let’s first define what our business and life-based “superpower” means.

 

Simply put, your “superpower” is the intersection of your “what”, “why” and “how”.

 

Wonderfully well-explained in Natalie Sisson’s Suitcase Entrepreneur, our “superpower/sweet spot” is the cross-section of three things:

  • What: Things we’re good at.
  • Why: Things we are passionate about.
  • How: Things we can do that people will pay us for.

 

Bring those together, and, in the middle, our “superpower” resides. So what are my “superpowers”?

 

Writing. Editing. Photography. Social media work. And making great Moroccan tagine, Asian kimchi, and a mean cheesecake…

 

I tried finding my superpower in three colleges; earning two degrees in the process. But they weren’t degrees in my superpower. It was the college degree program I dropped out of that gave me the most joy and fulfillment: journalism and writing. On the university newspaper staff, I had caffeine-fueled late night editing sessions, stories that needed to be written on the fly in time for press, and poking beyond my comfort zone to talk to people about touchy subjects. I look back and realized that writing changed my life, and no matter how tired I get, frustrated I become, or cynical I already may be, I will never escape the freedom and joy I derive out of pressing that “publish” button. Its that ability to put something down on paper or a keyboard and communicate it to the world that gets me excited every time I start writing. And, believe it or not, there happens to be a market for writers, editors, social media content creators, and people who make a mean cheesecake.

 

Only in this case, I’m taking the writing, and leaving the cheesecake.

Take that, Superman.

 

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Blog Challenge Day 4

Leave a Reply

