It’s a Schedule, Dummy.

That’s what I told myself when I looked at the screen.

 

I had been blinking at the strange grouping of words and numbers in chronologically-arranged squares for 5 minutes, wondering what the heck I was going to do with them. My current job in retail schedules out for two weeks, and allows me only a minimal amount of time a day for doing things related to my personal business. So what’s a guy to do? He does the thing he fears the most: he creates a schedule and sticks with it.

 

For someone who likes productivity hacks and constantly believes in effective time use, I was a horrible example. Now it was time to face the music, and win at planning my day. So here goes: making a (slightly) educated guess that I can spare 4 hours a day towards building my business, here is an example of what I want my schedule to look like on a given day:

 

Hour 1:

  • 10 minutes: Inbox Zero. Read, categorize and respond to all emails.
  • 25 minutes: Find and schedule social media content and calendar.
  • 25 minutes: One Pomodoro for writing custom social media content.

Hour 2:

  • 25 minutes: One Pomodoro for a blog post.
  • 25 minutes: One Pomodoro for a separate blog post
  • 10 minute break. COFFEE.

Hour 3:

  • Whole hour: prep (and execute, on recording days) podcast content. If need be, schedule broadcast.

Hour 4:

  • 25 minutes: One Pomodoro for building online class(es)
  • 10 minutes: MORE COFFEE.
  • 25 minutes: The Home Stretch Hustle. Cold email clients, offer guest posts, etc.

 

 

 

And that’s it! It looks a lot more doable when you actually plan it on paper. I’m a HUGE fan of the Pomodoro Technique, and (as you can see) I utilize it to keep me focused.

 

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 5.

One thought on “It’s a Schedule, Dummy.

Leave a Reply

