Arrival.

(NOTE: Since this blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 8, and I wasn’t able to follow the post’s instructions to the letter, I wanted to recount a recent experience that would fill the bill.)

 

It was a lovely Wednesday afternoon. Me and my roommate had the day off and, since he’s the one with the car, we decided to do some exploring on our new home island. After a quick lunch at Zippys (if you make it to Hawaii, try the Korean Chicken lunch plate!), we decided to make the trek out to the western tip of Oahu for some trail hiking. Finding a small gravel parking lot, we got out of the car and started making the trail from where we were to Ka’ena Point, a 5.2 mile hike roundtrip. It was the first time I had ever touched the ocean; letting the waves brush against my legs and hearing the roar of the ocean, I had an incredible moment. I looked at my mate and said “We did it. We’re actually here.” We both took a risk and moved out of the mainland US to an island state in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, and it finally hit me. We had done it.

 

The next few hours were spent getting out to the point, and when we got there, we rounded the bend and took a few steps south. The view you see in the featured image above is the beautiful sight that greeted us! Being a photographer, I had to take a shot. Okay, a lot…

 

Creating your own “freedom business” gives you (and me) the opportunities to take time and create experiences like this; experiences that would be harder to come by at any other time. I constantly look at the pictures I take here in Hawaii and continually fight to create the life and business I want.

Leave a Reply

